

# MINISTRY OF TOURISM REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Private Bag X424, Pretoria, 0001, South Africa. Tel. (+27 12) 444 6780, Fax (+27 12) 444 7027 Private Bag X9154, Cape Town, 8000, South Africa. Tel. (+27 21) 469 5800, Fax: (+27 21) 465 3216

#### Tourism Minister welcomes new members of SA Tourism Board

## 1 May 2015

Minister of Tourism, Derek Hanekom, today welcomed new appointees to the Board of South African Tourism (SAT).

SAT is the tourism marketing arm of government. It positions South Africa as a destination of choice both internationally and domestically. Marketing plays a pivotal role for the tourism sector, enabling it to be a lead contributor to economic growth in the country.

Minister Hanekom expressed his appreciation to the outgoing Board for its services and achievements over the last term.

The non-executive members of the SA Tourism Board are:

Mr Vincent Zwelibanzi Mntambo (reappointed)

Mr Graham Ian Wood (reappointed)

Dr Ayanda Ntsaluba (reappointed)

Mr Aloysius Thebeetsile Ikalafeng (reappointed)

Ms Charlotte Mary Chichi Machichana Maponya

Mr Oregan Percival Mark Hoskins

Dr Tanya Ethel Abrahamse

Dr Iraj Abedian

Ms Monhla Wilma Hlahla

Ms Michelle Julie Constant

Ms Judy Valerie Nwokedi

Mr Colin Geoffrey Bell

Ms Amor Malan

Ms Mmaditonki Setwaba

"I am very pleased with the selection of the new Board, given their combined level of strategic leadership, governance, financial, business and tourism experience," Minister Hanekom said. "Tourism is a force for change, and must take the lead in the sustainable and inclusive development of the country. We rely upon SA Tourism to position our beautiful South Africa as a prime tourist destination."

Minister Hanekom said he was confident that the new Board was equal to the task ahead, and wished them well in their term. Ends

## **Enquiries:**

### Mr Praveen Naidoo

Media Liaison Officer to the Minister National Department of Tourism Telephone: +27 (0) 12 444 6607 Cell: +27 (0) 81 475 1056

Cell: +27 (0) 81 475 1056 Email: pnaidoo@tourism.gov.za

Facebook: NationalDepartmentOfTourism;

Twitter: @Tourism gov za